top of page
  • Foto van schrijverPaddock14

EuroNASCAR 2: Simon Pilate, Leevi Lintukanto and Shaun Hollamby show great performance at Brands Hat

Ian Eric Wadén on the podium, Justin Kunz with solid weekend



The weekend at Brands Hatch was the most successful one in the career of the young Belgian driver Simon Pilate.

Simon knew the track only from his simulator, where he only recently achieved an impressive victory in the newly established eNASCAR International iRacing Series. Now he added two podiums to his statistics on this demanding track.

In the first race, Simon Pilate finished on P3, in the second race he crossed the finish line on P2. In addition, he had the fastest lap of the second race.

"The weekend in Brands Hatch was the best in my career in the EuroNASCAR. It's difficult to overtake here, but I knew I had the pace. I'm extremely happy with the results, especially with the fastest lap time. I have to thank my team that they prepared a perfect car for me", Simon Pilate said.



Justin Kunz arrived highly motivated at Brands Hatch and showed that with P3 in the qualifying. Due to a little mistake in the first race he lost 2 positions and crossed the finish line on P5. In the second race on Sunday Justin was involved in a lot of fights for positions. He brought home another Top 10-result with P7, but couldn't meet his own expectations. "Brands Hatch is one of my favourite tracks. It's a pity that I wasn't able to show everything that is possible with the DF1 Grapos Camaro 22, but at least I gained some valuable points for the championship."

The British guest-starter Shaun Hollamby in the DF1 Lettner Trans Camaro 77 showed an impressive performance in the second race on Sunday. With P6 overall he was superior in the Legends Trophy and won his first trophy in the EuroNASCAR. "It was a fantastic weekend. My mechanics and my teammate Marc Goossens supported my in every possible way. My car was running perfect and for the first time I was able to race at the front. I enjoyed it so much it might lead to some more in the future", Hollamby said.


The weekend was also solid for the two Finnish DF1 Tigers. Ian Eric Wadén in his Camaro 44 brought home another podium in the Legends Trophy and is now on P3 in the overall standings of the Legends Trophy.

The young Leevi Lintukanto wasn't able to finish the first race, due to a contact with Shaun Hollamby in the beginning of the race. In the second race he had to catch up to get back to the front, which he did brilliantly. He finished the race on P10, which meant to be his first victory in the Rookie Trophy.


Norbert Walchhofer, Head of Motorsport of DF1 Racing: "We are proud of the performance of our drivers. Especially Simon was able to show what he is capable of. All five cars have been in the front of their trophies and we are confident that we will be able to underline our ambitions to fight for the titles in the next race in Most."

Photo credits: Nina Weinbrenner/Threewide



6 weergaven0 opmerkingen

Recente blogposts

Alles weergeven
bottom of page