top of page
  • Foto van schrijverPaddock14

EN 2: Successful weekend for DF1 Racing at Grobnik

In the EuroNASCAR 2 DF1 Racing was able to meet the high expectations with a great performance of the whole team. Justin Kunz in the #22 Chevrolet Camaro with the special design of Siebdruck.cc was able to win his first podium in 2021 in the first race on Saturday. Gil Linster in his Lettner Trans Chevrolet Camaro #77 finished the race on P9. Simon Pilate, who was on P3, had to stop his car after a collision with a lapped car in the final lap of the race.


In the second race on Sunday, Simon Pilate in his FUCHS AUSTRIA Chevrolet Camaro #66 crossed the finish line on P3 and his teammate Justin Kunz was able to gain valuable points in the championship with another Top 5-finish. His Finnish teammate Leevi Lintukanto in the #23 brought home another win in the Rookie Trophy with P6 in the overall standings. Gil Linster completed the great performance of the team with P9 - all four cars of DF1 Racing finished the race in the Top 10!

After the eighth round of the EuroNASCAR in Grobnik, Croatia, the #22 was abe to maintain P3 in the team championship. The #77 moved up to P6.





Justin Kunz: "We had a really good weekend. It's a great feeling to be back on the podium and to be able to give something back to the team and the mechanics for all the hard work and their trust in me. Finally we are where we want to be and I'm confident that we will have a good second part of the season. With this development we have a good chance to fight for the title in the overall standings as well as in the team championship. The best part this weekend was that for the first time since 2019 my Dad was able to attend a race and to celebrate the podium with him."



Simon Pilate: "It was a weekend with ups and downs for me. My qualifying went pretty well and I was confident for the first race. I was able to overtake some of my opponents and I was on P3, until the last lap and the collision. Mentally, that was harsh, but I tried to focus on the second race. I had a good start and moved up until P3. Unfortunately the distance to the front was too big already, but I was able to keep the others behind me. Concerning the championship the collision in the first race was extremely annoying, but it helps to know that we have the pace to fight for podiums, especially with regard to the next race in Zolder."



Gil Linster: "For me, it was a difficult weekend. It was a new track and the free practice was in the wet. I had problems to familiarize with the track, so my qualifying was not the best with P16. In the first race I was able to move up to P9. I was able to win all the fights with my opponents. In the second race I had to look after my tires, so it was more difficult to overtake. I was hoping for a better position than P9 again, but overall it was a good weekend. I've learned a lot and found my rhythm again with these cars. Now I'm looking forward to Zolder, a track I know from the past. As it is the home round of Marc Goossens, I'm sure that with his experience we will be strong."



Leevi Lintukanto: "Unfortunately we had some technical problems throughout the weekend. My team was able to solve that and afterwards we've been able to show the real speed of the car. ALthough it was a rather difficult weekend, I was able to win the Rookie Trophy on Sunday and thank my mechanics for all the hard work they put into the car."



Photo credits: Stéphane Azemard / NASCAR Whelen Euro Series

Photo credits: Nina Weinbrenner / Threewide




12 weergaven0 opmerkingen

Recente blogposts

Alles weergeven
bottom of page